National Certification: Medical Assistant, EKG Technician, Phlebotomy, Billing and Coding, Electronic Health Records

This database is no longer actively maintained and is here for archival purposes only

Organization Type: 
Program Type: 
Standing Program
Education Level: 
Technical certificate programs or certificate training programs
Educational Elements: 
Independent Study
Other Element(s): 
Certification Preparation and Certification
Program Description: 

Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) employees are being called on to expand their responsibilities and cross-train to fulfill additional office functions. The primary goal of National Healthcareer Association® (NHA) is to provide nationally recognized credentials for allied health fields, by assessing core competencies through accredited certification examinations.  NHA provides certification for Medical Assistants, Phlebotomists, Electronic Health Record Specialists, Billing and Coding Specialists, Medical Administrative Specialists, EKG Technicians, Patient Care Technicians and Pharmacy Technicians.

In partnership with ATI Allied Health, NHA offers tutorials and practice assessments.  Although not required in order to sit for an NHA certification exam, these study materials and NHA’s supportive analytics help identify skills gaps for additional training and professional development.  During remediation, physicians, nurses and managerial staff can serve as coaches, monitor progress and provide additional guidance throughout the certification process. For additional information contact NHA.

Program Results: 

NHA is accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA), a division of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence.  The NCCA’s "Standards for the Accreditation of Certification Programs" were the first standards developed by the credentialing industry for professional certification programs and were developed to help ensure the health, welfare, and safety of the public. NCCA-accredited certification programs, such as those offered by NHA, must comply with rigorous guidelines surrounding examination design and development, psychometric defensibility, exam administration, and test question security. NCCA accreditation ensures that NHA's examination and certification program have demonstrated the highest level of quality as an assessment instrument.

Targeted Professions
Medical Assistants
Medical Billing and Coding, Electronic Health Records, Phlebotomy, EKG Technician
Self-Reported Competencies
PCPCC’s Education and Training Task Force identified 16 interprofessional training competencies critical for preparing health professionals for practicing in team-based, coordinated care models such as patient-centered medical homes. Listed below are the self-reported competencies that this program has achieved, which have been organized by the five core features of a medical home as defined by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Patient-Centered Care Competencies: 
Development of effective, caring relationships with patients
Coordinated Care Competencies: 
Health information technology, including e-communications with patients & other providers
Quality Care & Safety Competencies: 
Quality improvement methods, including assessment of patient-experience for use in practice-based improvement efforts
Last updated March 23, 2015

* Please note: Information contained in this database is self-reported by representatives from each program. It does not represent an exhaustive list of education and training programs and inclusion does not constitute an endorsement from the PCPCC.


Go to top