OSF Healthcare System - CMS Pioneer ACO

Program Location: 
Peoria, IL
Payer Type: 
Parent Program: 

OSF HealthCare, owned and operated by The Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis, Peoria, Illinois, includes OSF Healthcare System consisting of nine hospitals and medical centers, one long-term care facility, and two colleges of nursing. Additionally, OSF Medical Group is a primary care physician network consisting of more than 600 primary care, specialist physicians, and advanced practice providers. Through participation in the CMS Pioneer ACO program, OSF patients will benefit through improvements in how providers manage high risk patients, how they manage complex medical conditions, how they transition from one care setting to another, through improved access to services, and an over all value based health care system.

Payment Model: 

The payment models being tested in the first two years of the Pioneer ACO Model are a shared savings payment policy with generally higher levels of shared savings and risk for Pioneer ACOs than levels currently proposed in the Medicare Shared Savings Program. In year three of the program, participating ACOs that have shown a specified level of savings over the first two years will be eligible to move a substantial portion of their payments to a population-based model. These models of payments will also be flexible to accommodate the specific organizational and market conditions in which Pioneer ACOs work.

Last updated June 2014
Go to top