Family Medicine Residency

This database is no longer actively maintained and is here for archival purposes only

Organization Type: 
Not For Profit
Program Type: 
Education Level: 
Postgraduate (e.g., residency, fellowship)
Educational Elements: 
Experiential including clinical contact with patients
Program Description: 

The Community Health Network Family Medicine Residency Program in Indianapolis was awarded a $1.3 million Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) grant in 2010 to achieve three major patient-centered medical home (PCMH) goals: 1) to transform its residency curriculum to meet the needs of PCMH training, 2) to transform its Family Medicine Center into a PCMH with National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) certification and 3) to change the culture of its organization to lend itself to these transformations.

In 2012 the program implemented a new three-year residency curriculum focused on training residents for care delivery in a PCMH.  Key components of the new curriculum included the following:  1) increased resident presence in the family medical center comprising of up to 50 percent throughout all three years of residency, 2) elimination of traditional organ-based block rotations, 3) longitudinal team-based "modules" in acute care, chronic care, and preventive care that include the highest yield learning experiences from specialists and other providers; these experiences recur in all three years of residency.  Quality metrics, process improvement, and physician leadership roles in multidisciplinary teams are key components of small group "team time" that occur during each year of training.  When possible, the program integrates "specialty clinics" in the family medical center with a specialist preceptor, enabling residents to learn from that specialist in a focused experience with the center’s patient population.

The Acute Care Module includes 12 weeks in each year of training of the following: 18 weeks of inpatient adult, six weeks if inpatient pediatrics, nine weeks of emergency department, and three weeks in either urgent care or the intensive care unit (ICU).  The Chronic Care Module incudes 12 weeks each year of training on the following: endocrinology clinics; congestive heart failure and cardiology clinics; renal, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), allergy, and asthma clinics; longitudinal behavioral health curriculum;  team time with process improvement, quality metrics; and interdisciplinary team staffing.  The Preventative Module incudes 12 weeks each year of training on the following: ambulatory pediatrics; gynecology; sports medicine (in and out of the family medical center), orthopedics, and spine center; podiatry at the family medical center; geriatrics; community medicine; and team time with small group learning, procedure training, and process improvement.  The Individual Module incudes 12 weeks each year of training on the following:  six weeks of obstetrics and another six weeks of surgery in the first year with electives and scholarly activity occurring in years two and three.  Nursing home and centering pregnancy group visits are longitudinal experiences that span multiple modules.

Program Results: 

As of 2013, the program is currently in its first year of evaluation; the evaluation process will be ongoing.  The past two recruitment seasons and match rates have significantly improved with this curriculum transformation. Surveys on resident and employee satisfaction at the family medical center have shown improvement.  In addition, the program also monitors the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) survey results, alumni surveys, board pass rates, and in-training exam scores.

Targeted Professions
Family Medicine
Internal Medicine
Nurse Practitioners
Ambulatory Care
Social Work: 
Medical social work
Self-Reported Competencies
PCPCC’s Education and Training Task Force identified 16 interprofessional training competencies critical for preparing health professionals for practicing in team-based, coordinated care models such as patient-centered medical homes. Listed below are the self-reported competencies that this program has achieved, which have been organized by the five core features of a medical home as defined by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Comprehensive Care Competencies: 
Population-based approaches to health care delivery
Coordinated Care Competencies: 
Care coordination for comprehensive care of patient & family in the community
Health information technology, including e-communications with patients & other providers
Interprofessionalism & interdisciplinary team collaboration
Team leadership
Quality Care & Safety Competencies: 
Assessment of patient outcomes
Quality improvement methods, including assessment of patient-experience for use in practice-based improvement efforts
Last updated November 15, 2013

* Please note: Information contained in this database is self-reported by representatives from each program. It does not represent an exhaustive list of education and training programs and inclusion does not constitute an endorsement from the PCPCC.


Go to top