Steven E. Weinberger

Steven Weinberger, MD, FACP is Executive Vice President & CEO of the American College of Physicians (ACP) and is an adjunct professor of medicine at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. Prior to becoming EVP & CEO, Dr. Weinberger served as ACP's Deputy Executive Vice President and Senior Vice President for Medical Education and Publishing. Prior to joining ACP, Dr. Weinberger served on the faculty of Harvard Medical School and Beth Israel Hospital/Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center for more than 25 years. He was executive vice chair of the Department of Medicine at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, executive director of the Carl J. Shapiro Institute for Education and Research, and professor of medicine and faculty associate dean for medical education at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Weinberger authored a popular textbook, Principles of Pulmonary Medicine, now in its fifth edition and available in several languages. He has written numerous original and review articles as well as multiple chapters for the leading textbooks of internal medicine, including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and Cecil’s Textbook of Medicine. He was editor of the Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine section of the American College of Physicians’ Medical Knowledge Self-Assessment Program. He served on the editorial board of The New England Journal of Medicine from 1992 to 2000 and was Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine editor-in-chief for UpToDate. A graduate of Harvard Medical School, Dr. Weinberger completed residency training in internal medicine at the University of California-San Francisco Medical Center, followed by fellowship training in pulmonary medicine at the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute at the National Institutes of Health. Dr. Weinberger has been a Fellow (FACP) of ACP since 1988. He is the recipient of numerous Harvard Medical School teaching awards. In 2001, he received the Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award from Alpha Omega Alpha and the Association of American Medical Colleges, and in 2008 he received the Clinical Educator Award from the American Thoracic Society Clinical Problems Assembly.

Contributed To

Executive Committee
Go to top